SmartDollar FAQ

How do I promote SmartDollar?

Refer to our Implementation/Promotion guide for the best practices in promoting SmartDollar here.  Also, reach out to your Relationship Manager to help you maximize the effectiveness of SmartDollar for your team.

How do I explain SmartDollar to my team?

SmartDollar is an online financial wellness program designed to help you reach your financial goals. Through video lessons and real-world content applications, a team of experts, including Dave Ramsey, will inspire you take action and help you make the most out of your money.  With SmartDollar, you’ll get a step-by-step plan that has worked for millions of people, and you’ll learn how to budget, save, pay off debt, invest and more!

Who should use SmartDollar?

SmartDollar is for everyone. Whether you have no savings and debt or you’re ready for retirement, SmartDollar’s online tools can help you reach your financial goals.

What does SmartDollar cover?

SmartDollar covers everything from saving and budgeting, right up to investing, buying a home and retirement. With SmartDollar you’ll learn about the 7 Baby Steps for success, including the debt snowball and how to make your household income work for you.

How does my team sign up for SmartDollar?

Your company will have their own enrollment link specific for just your company.

Once they log in, they’ll receive a verification email at the email address they used to sign up. After a brief wellness survey, they’ll be able to walk through the lesson modules, budgeting tool and additional content at their own pace.

Should I charge my team to use SmartDollar?

We recommend not charging your employees to use SmartDollar. Engagement, participation, and overall results are significantly higher when SmartDollar is provided as a 100% paid-for benefit.

Yes! Your employee’s personal information is used only for their SmartDollar account, and it’s never reported to the employer or to SmartDollar at an individual level.

Is SmartDollar confidential?

Financial data is stored and transferred with a multilayer security approach that includes firewall barriers, data encryption techniques, authentication procedures and data transmission encryption, among other hardware, software and procedural methods. When you register for the service, Ramsey Solutions requires a password from you for your privacy and security. The technology infrastructure resides in world-class, highly secure data centers utilizing state-of-the-art electronic surveillance and multifactor access control systems. These data centers are staffed twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week by trained security guards, and access is authorized strictly on a least-privileged basis.

Is SmartDollar secure?

SmartDollar is a completely self-paced program. In addition to the main video lessons, there are hundreds of supplemental video and audio clips ranging in length from two to thirty minutes. You can spend as much or as little time as you would like exploring this content.

In addition to educational material, your SmartDollar account includes premium access to EveryDollar, the world’s best online budgeting tool (a $99/year value). EveryDollar allows you to link your bank accounts and your budget, helping you plan your spending and reach your financial goals faster. EveryDollar can be used daily, weekly or whenever you choose.

How long will it take to use SmartDollar?

Can an employee’s family sign up for SmartDollar?

No. Each employee may only create one (1) SmartDollar account. However, we want you to go through SmartDollar with your family, so sharing your account with your household is encouraged.

What do I do if I need technical support or need help signing up?

Our technical support group is always available to help.

For SmartDollar technical support or help signing in, visit

For EveryDollar technical support, visit

What are SmartDollar Points?

SmartDollar Points are designed to measure your activity within SmartDollar. You can earn SmartDollar Points for each activity within SmartDollar, such as watching a lesson, completing a quiz, updating your wellness score, making a budget, etc. Your SmartDollar Points are displayed in the upper right-hand corner of the screen and can be used by your employer for contests and employee challenges. See attached chart for updated SmartDollar Points details. 

What is EveryDollar?

EveryDollar is the name for the online budget tool within SmartDollar. EveryDollar is completely confidential and helps you create a budget, track expenses, and keep your spending on track. With EveryDollar, you have the option to sync your budget with your bank account and “drag and drop” recent transactions into your budget categories.

Is there an app for SmartDollar?

The SmartDollar program is mobile friendly, allowing it to be viewed on phones, tablets, laptops and desktops—there is no separate app for the program.

However, the EveryDollar budgeting tool has a phone app available for both iPhone and Android devices. After creating your EveryDollar account within SmartDollar, visit to download the free app.

Please contact the SmartDollar team at any time by contacting your Relationship Manager or sending an email to

What do I do if a participant needs to be removed from SmartDollar?